Skip links
Cradle Life Magaliesberg Humankind
‘Cradle of Life’ book review

‘Cradle of Life’ book review

Cradle of Life: The Story of the Magaliesberg and the Cradle of HumankindBy Vincent Carruthers | Publisher: Struik Nature, Penguin Random House South Africa | ISBN: 9781775845973 The Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, situated in the heart of the Magaliesberg Biosphere Reserve, is the

New Daughters of South Africa book review Margaret Busby
New Daughters of Africa: An international anthology of writing by women of African descent

New Daughters of Africa: An international anthology of writing by women of African descent

Edited by Margaret Busby | Publisher: Jonathan Ball Publishers | ISBN: 9781868429844 Showcasing the work of more than 200 women writers of African descent, this major international collection celebrates their contributions to literature and international culture.     Twenty-five years ago, Margaret Busby’s groundbreaking anthology Daughters of Africa

South Africa book review
Book Reviews

Book Reviews

The Dragon Lady | By Louisa Treger | Publisher: Bloomsbury Caravel | ISBN: 9781448217458 ‘A daring blend of romance, crime and history, and an intelligent exposé of the inherent injustice and consequences of all forms of oppression’ – Tsitsi Dangarembga, Nervous Conditions.     Opening with the shooting

Department arts culture book books reading read South Africa women
Creating a reading culture

Creating a reading culture

The South African publishing industry is considered among the best in Africa – but we still have much to achieve. With National Book Week turning ten this September, and in honour of Women’s Month, Creative Feel looks at the publishing industry and the women who

Johannesburg Then and Now
Johannesburg: Then & Now

Johannesburg: Then & Now

Johannesburg Then and Now By Marc Latilla and Yeshiel Panchia | Publisher: Struik Travel & Heritage | ISBN: 9781775846178 In less than a century, the jumble of shabby tents and lean-tos that constituted Johannesburg’s first settlement has grown into a modern metropolis of towering office

Reading Mandela
Reading Mandela

Reading Mandela

Published on the centenary of Madiba’s birth, these inspiring reads reveal with poignance, passion and inspiration messages of resilience, peace and hope from the Father of the Nation.      In Going to the Mountain, Ndaba Mandela weaves the trials and frustrations of his early

Sue Grafton
The alphabet now ends at Y

The alphabet now ends at Y

     Sue Grafton, mastermind of the beloved and hugely popular alphabet series of mystery novels, which kicked off with A is for Alibi in 1982, has died at 77, according to her daughter, Jamie Clark. Grafton reached ‘Y’ in the series when she published

The Fifth Mrs Brink

The Fifth Mrs Brink

The Fifth Mrs Brink | By Karina M. Szczurek | Publisher: Jonathan Ball Publishers | ISBN: 9781868428038 In 2014, the Arts & Culture Trust (ACT) awarded André Brink a Lifetime Achievement Award for Literature and we scheduled a personal interview for Creative Feel’s ‘ACT Awards Issue’. Being a

Jurgen Schadeberg
The Way I See it – A Memoir

The Way I See it – A Memoir

Photographer Jürgen Schadeberg was the man behind the camera of many of the photographs which are as familiar as they are iconic: Nelson Mandela gazing through the bars of his prison cell on Robben Island; a young Miriam Makeba smiling and dancing; Hugh Masekela as

The Ugly Five

The Ugly Five

The creators of The Gruffalo, the story of a mythical beast and a clever mouse that has been translated into 40 different languages and sold over 10 million copies, have again collaborated to produce a wonderful book, this time about some rather special African animals,

foodSTUFF
Reflections on food and stuff

Reflections on food and stuff

Tony Jackman’s foodSTUFF: Reflections & recipes from a celebrated foodie is a beautifully produced collection of recipes punctuated with memories, reflections and witty essays. Creative Feel spoke to the maverick food writer about his refreshingly original take on life and food. foodSTUFF: Reflections & recipes

September Books
September Book Reviews

September Book Reviews

The Genius of Jane Austen: Her Love of Theatre and Why She Works in Hollywood | By Paula Byrne | Publisher: William Collins, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers | ISBN: 9780008225667 Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this updated edition of Paula Byrne’s debut book includes new

Natalie Knight
The Big Picture

The Big Picture

The Big Picture: An Art-O-Biography | By Natalie Knight | Publisher: Batya Bricker | ISBN: 9780620757331 The Big Picture is Natalie Knight’s Art-O-Biography – part memoir, part art history – filled with beautiful art images, society photos of the time and the stories behind many

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.