Skip links

2021 Fleur du Cap Awards celebrate mentorship and new talent

The winners of the 56th Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards have been announced and the organisers are upbeat and optimistic about the future of local theatre and its relevance in society. This despite the crippling impact of Covid-19, which brought local theatre to a virtual standstill.

Says chair of the judging panel Africa Melane, ‘Even though so many production runs were cancelled or curtailed in 2020 and 2021, the awards have perhaps assumed even greater significance than ever before. They are helping to keep hope alive, maintain momentum and continuity in the theatre space as much for our wealth of theatrical talent as for our treasured audiences. Under these difficult circumstances, we have chosen to celebrate the mentorship, innovation and upcoming talent that underpin our industry, as well as the efforts made to support theatre people in need. We are thus honouring five recipients across four categories. These are for lifetime achievement, innovation in approach to theatre, support to the industry and for best student of the year.’

The Lifetime Achievement Award

Veteran director, actress and writer, Janice Honeyman, a multiple Fleur du Cap Awards winner, has earned the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award for her extensive contribution to South African theatre. She works across a wide spectrum of genres from classical to popular theatre, pantomime, musicals, opera and operetta for adults and children.

‘Ever since the 1970s, she has used theatre to bring public attention to critical social issues. Over the decades she has continued to play an essential role in educational theatre, while also showcasing South African talent offshore, taking many of her productions abroad. She has also mentored and inspired many of the country’s top stage personalities.’

Africa Melane
Janice Honeyman Fleur du cap lifetime achievement theatre award
“Merry Widow” 2015 rehearsal, Janice Honeyman (right)

The Innovation in Theatre Award

The panel awarded the Innovation in Theatre Award to the Royal Arts Town Amphitheatre in the Riebeek Valley. This cultural hub, so vital to the towns of Riebeek West and Riebeek-Kasteel had been kept alive during lockdown by the region’s many creative figures.

Production closures, says Melane, have led to the development of imaginative new ideas and initiatives, with a strong accent on musical and fine arts events. ‘Tourism could be kept afloat when and wherever possible and funds were raised to support a range of social development projects.’

Royal Arts Town Amphitheatre
Royal Arts Town Amphitheatre

The Encore Award

The Encore Award was won by the Theatre Benevolent Fund, established in 1964 to provide support and to maintain the dignity of showbiz professionals. Melane says the role of the fund, South Africa’s only arts and entertainment charitable fund, ‘has never been more crucial than over these past two years.’

Student Awards

The standard of student talent proved so high that for the first time in the history of the awards, the judges decided to award two Most Promising Students of the Year. Both 2020 graduates, they are Liné Koen of LAMTA (Luitingh Alexander Musical Theatre Academy) and Tebatso Denilson Molapo of the Centre for Theatre Dance and Performance Studies.

‘They are highly gifted and exemplify the spirit, grit, verve and endurance of South Africa’s new generation of performing arts talent.’

Liné Koen student award Fleur du Cap
Liné Koen
Tebatso Denilson Molapo student award Fleur du Cap
Tebatso Denilson Molapo

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.