Skip links

Sauti Sol Album ‘Midnight Train’ Out Now

The award-winning afro-pop band, Sauti Sol has released their fifth studio album, Midnight Train, with the official launch taking place on 10 June 2020 at 19:00. This is the group’s first major-label record – with Universal Music Africa.

“Brighter Days” is a motivational and spiritually uplifting anthem featuring Grammy Award-winning Soweto Gospel Choir. The song reaffirms that one should not be weary or in despair but focus on the promise of Brighter Days. This sing-along praise song spreads positivity and encouragement across different nations in a time when it is needed most. The accompanying video, directed by Ofentse Mwase (OM Films), was shot in South Africa in Johannesburg’s historic main studio, Downtown Music Hub. The video went live and you can watch it right here:

Recorded between Los Angeles, California, Johannesburg, South Africa and their hometown Nairobi, Kenya, Midnight Train demonstrates the bands songwriting and producing skills with electric energy and new rhythms. The album’s theme is centered around enjoying the journey of life but also embracing the hustles and the trials that come with it. You can count on Sauti Sol to deliver music from the heart and Midnight Train, does not stray from the formula. 
     “Disco Matanga (Yambakhana),” the official soundtrack to Netflix’s first African Original series Queen Sono, is the most recent collaborative release to come in the form of Sho Madjozi and Black Motion. Polycarp shares: ‘They were on our list of musicians we wanted to collaborate with, and it finally came to pass. We love South African music and it is one of the sweetest artistic heritages on the continent.’ American singer and songwriter, India Arie, guest stars on the sensual track “My Everything.”
     Midnight Train is a wholesome album and a milestone release for the group. It is inspirational and uplifting and offers much needed social commentary while not losing its global appeal. ‘There is a lot of maturity in the album,’ states Polycarp. ‘We have come of age and we express how people should perceive us freely after 11 years as professional singers. Every song speaks to an issue that is relatable to everyone.’

Midnight Train Tracklist:

  1. Intro
  2. Midnight Train
  3. Insecure
  4. Feel My Love
  5. Brighter Days ft. Soweto Gospel Choir 
  6. Nenda Lote
  7. Suzanna
  8. Set Me Free (Interlude)
  9. My Everything ft. India Arie
  10. Wake Up ft. Mortimer 
  11. Sober 
  12. Rhumba Japani ft. Kaskazini, Bensoul, Xenia, Nviiri the Storyteller, Okello Max, NHP
  13. Disco Matanga (Yambakhana) ft. Black Motion & Sho Madjozi        

Follow Sauti Sol:


We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.