Skip links

KZN Philharmonic Spring Symphony Season 2019

With outstanding soloists, star conductors & acclaimed choirs, the KZN Philharmonic Orchestra proudly presents the Spring Season of its renowned World Symphony Series 2019 from 31 October to 21 November. ‘The KZN Philharmonic is committed to enriching the cultural life of South Africa’s diverse audiences by presenting world-class concerts and implementing education and community engagement programmes,’ says Artistic Director Bongani Tembe. Single tickets priced from R68 – R240 are available at Computicket. All concerts commence at 19:30 at the Durban City Hall. The City Hall precinct, including surrounding parking garages, is patrolled by a dedicated security team.

Thursday, 31 October 2019, 19:30, Durban City Hall
Conductor: Wolfram Christ
Soloists: Avigail Bushakevitz, violin
Mozart Eine Kleine Nachtmusik (Serenade K.525)
Mozart Violin Concerto No. 3, K.216 in G Major, “Strassburg”
Mozart Symphony No. 39, K.543 in E-flat Major

Thursday, 7 November 2019, 19:30, Durban City Hall
Celebrating 25 years of democracy in South Africa
Conductor: Daniel Boico
Soloist: Matilda Lloyd, trumpet
Choirs: Clermont Community Choir
     Durban Symphonic Choir
     Joyful Sounds
     SA Singers
Koapeng: Overture to Thina sizwe
Hofmeyr: Partita Africana
Haydn: Concerto for Trumpet, Hob. Vlle: 1 in E-flat Major
Handel: And the glory from Messiah, HWV 56
Sibisi (N): Uz’ungangilahli Jehova
Sibisi (Q): Nkosi Sihawukele from Zulu Mass in B-flat
Sibisi (Q): Mvana kaNkulunkulu from Zulu Mass in B-flat
Moerane: Ruri’, ruri’, ketso tsa Rabohle
Haydn: Sing the Lord, ye voices all from Die Schöpfung (The Creation)
Mendelssohn: Blessed are the men who fear Him from Elijah, Op. 70
Mendelssohn: Thanks be to God from Elijah, Op. 70

Thursday, 14 November 2019, 19:30, Durban City Hall
Conductor: Roderick Cox
Soloist: Dmitry Shishkin, piano
Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin
Tchaikovksy: Piano Concerto No.1, Op. 23 in b-flat minor
Brahms: Symphony No. 4, Op. 98 in e minor

Thursday, 21 November 2019, 19:30, Durban City Hall
Conductor: Conrad van Alphen
Soloist: Megan-Geoffrey Prins, piano
Dvorák: Carnival Overture, Op. 92
Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 21 in f minor
Dvorák: Symphony No. 9, Op. 95 in e minor, “From the New World”

To keep up-to-date with the latest arts and culture news in South Africa, purchase the October 2019 issue of Creative Feel or subscribe to our monthly magazine from only R180.00 to R365.00 per year! SUBSCRIBE HERE!

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.