Skip links

Fugard Theatre Kinky Boots leaderboard
Kunene and the King – Fugard Theatre
Everard Read Olivié Keck leaderboard
Cinema Nouveau Die Seemeeu leaderboard
SAJE Jazz Festival April 2019 leaderboard
Cinema Nouveau Galveston leaderboard
Cape Town Big Band Jazz Festival 2019 leaderboard
Sasol New Signatures leaderboard

Explore the 9 World Heritage Sites in South Africa

2019 marks 25 years since the first democratic elections in South Africa – an important milestone that Creative Feel will be celebrating throughout the year. In this first article in the series, we explore South Africa’s special heritage by looking at South Africa’s nine UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
     South Africa was invited to rejoin the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) in 1994 under the leadership of Nelson Mandela. The UNESCO World Heritage Sites are places of importance to cultural or natural heritage as described in the UNESCO World Heritage Convention, established in 1972. South Africa accepted the convention on 10 July 1997, making its historical sites eligible for inclusion on the list.
     South Africa is home to nine of the world’s official heritage sites, as determined by UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee. The country has a total of five cultural, three natural and one mixed (cultural and natural) heritage sites. This is not surprising given the spectacular and diverse culture, nature and wildlife that South Africa offers its tourists.