Skip links

Greatest creative talents honoured by Standard Bank Joy of Jazz 2017

As part of the milestone 20th instalment of the Standard Bank Joy of Jazz, a glittering galaxy of the brightest South African creative stars were honoured.

The 20 esteemed recipients drawn from disciplines such as artists (performers), writers, radio and sponsors have all contributed to a thriving and vibrant jazz culture. The category of Artists was dominated by trailblazing musicians who have a sterling track record, international fame and acclaim. Jazz icons like Hugh Masekela, Abdullah Ibrahim, Jonas Gwangwa and Sipho Mabuse stood shoulder to shoulder with veterans of Afro-soul; Caiphus Semenya and Letta Mbulu, and mezzo-soprano – Sibongile Khumalo who all boast a peerless repertoire and are of a fine pedigree as this year’s honorees. Radio voices that have kept jazz booming from speakers across the country were commended, they included Nothemba Madumo, K.G Moeketsi, Shado Twala and Brenda SisaneThe skilful writing accomplishments of Gwen Ansell and Peter Feldman were also applauded.The sponsors who provide a financial muscle for the staging of events and activations that keep jazz uppermost on the minds of music lovers were recognised, and they include Standard Bank, City of Johannesburg and the Department of Arts and Culture.

Joy Of Jazz

The honorees were feted at a special gala dinner powered by MNS Attorneys on Saturday, September 23 at Montecasino as part of the festivities leading up to the staging of the 20th edition of the Standard Bank Joy of Jazz at the Sandton Convention Centre. Congratulating the honourees Peter Tladi of T-Musicman, the executive producer of Standard Bank Joy of Jazz commented: ‘It is an absolute privilege that Joy of Jazz tipped its hat off to these phenomenal men and women who have kept the lifeblood of jazz pumping in our country, more especially as we celebrate two decades of this amazing festival. The stature of our honourees is unquestionable as national assets and treasures that we cherish. We believe that honouring them while they are still alive will encourage them to give more of themselves for the greater good of this beautiful art we call jazz. We had a magical evening where everyone celebrated these individuals, we look forward to more events of this nature where we’ll be honouring new people who are putting in the work to build this industry up.” 

Joy Of Jazz

Complete list of honours


Hugh Masekela | Abdullah Ibrahim | Caiphus Semenya | Letta Mbulu | Jonas Gwangwa | Sipho Mabuse | Sibongile Khumalo


Gwen Ansell | Peter Fieldman


Ike PhaahlaShado Twala | Nothemba Madumo | K.G Moeketsi | Brenda Sisane 

Jazz Appreciation



Standard Bank | MNS Attorneys | Department of Arts and Culture | City of Joburg | Gauteng Province

The 20th Standard Bank Joy of Jazz is on between 28 and 30 September 2017 at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg. Tickets are on sale at Computicket at R795 for a Day Pass and R1 350 for a two-day pass.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.